Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Can I tax deduct my hot pants?

And other end of financial year questions
2

Each year I’m the MC of a primary school fundraiser called Westgarth Idol. It’s a parent night devised in the naughties by a man called Justin Gray, who decided that the trivia night would be more fun with no trivia. There are no children invited, and for a long time having fun was much more important than raising money. Then we accidentally started raising quite a lot of money for the school, and now having fun is balanced with raising money.

I always open proceeding with a song, and since 2014 I’ve taken turns as Eric Idle, Piggy Pop, Dingo Starr, Elvis Parsley and The Human Fly (from the Cramps song).

Elvis Parsley wearing his green suede shoes (Photo Marcel Aucar)r
Elvis Parsley in green room at Thornbury Theatre
I’m a Human Fly and I don’t know why, I go buzz buzz buzz, and it's just becuz

I usually have a song choice battle with daughter Polly, now 17, who begs me not to sing any songs she likes. ‘No offence dad, if you sing them, you sometimes spoil those songs for me’.

No offence.

I actually don’t take offence. I can see how that might happen. I’m not musically gifted. I’m not really a ‘triple threat’ in the Hugh Jackman mould. I’m more a single threat — to the song, mainly, and your long term memories of it.

The one Polly’s really mad about is when I sang Donna Summer’s ‘Hot Stuff’ dressed as the novel coronavirus.

Last year I wore the primary school uniform, with an enlarged ‘Safe, Fair and Friendly’ school logo. I riffed on The Golden Lunchbox (award for least amount of rubbish thrown out by a class, and a clarion call for parents to JUST THROW THE WRAPPERS OUT AT HOME) and The Golden Boot (award for the class who were most eco in the way they got to school (punish the out of towners). I’ve long campaigned for their to be a third award called The Golden Snitch, for the kid who does the most dobbing in a single week. The winner of Westgarth Idol receives the coveted Golden Microphone.

Idol regular Eric Black dressed as the golden microphone

The song I chose to ruin for Polly last year was The Pet Shop Boys ‘Go West’, which pleased her no end because she didn’t like it anyway. I thought I might add a little bit of Pet Shop Boys 80s panache to the performance by ripping off the school uniform mid song, and presenting myself in hot pants and pink sequins.

Here are the adapted lyrics:

Go West!(garth)

Verse

Together, we will learn and play

Together, together in the Westgarth way

Together, on our idol night

Together, yes my singing’s shite

Together, though the notes get high

Together, watch our idols try

Together, we will sing for you

Together, that’s what we’re gonna do!

Chorus

Westgarth, ‘Safe and friendly’ there

Westgarth, whoops I left out ‘fair’

Westgarth, win the Golden Boot

Westgarth, the Golden Lunchbox too

Verse

Together, sharing food is banned

Together, our school fete is grand

Together, we don’t call it a fete

Fiesta, ‘cause our Spanish is great

On Monday, it’s assembly

Except when, they make it student free

And that’s when, we all stay at home

And together, we stare at our phone

Chorus

Westgarth, Safe and friendly there

Westgarth, whoops I left out fair

Westgarth, I’m your MC Tony

Westgarth, the golden microphoney!

Westgarth, No hats in wintertime

Westgarth, I will take off mine

Westgarth, tonight let’s just all be free

Westgarth, this is who I want to be!!!

[Remove school uniform, reveal skimpy disco wear]

Bridge (sung by band)

Now we let Tony be

The MC (The MC) That he was born to be

Now as the Idol band

We’ll find, (we’ll find) Our promised land

[Key change]

Our promised land is [replaces what we’re going to do is]

Chorus

Westgarth, we send our children there

Westgarth, so much love and care

Westgarth, slice of idol heaven

Westgarth, we’ll party till eleven

Westgarth, safe and friendly there

Westgarth, whoops I left out fair 

Westgarth, sing along with me

Westgarth, this is our pupil free!!!

Westgarth, Westgarth Idol’s back

Westgarth, Vote for your favourite act

Westgarth, songs and band set too

Westgarth. This is what we’re gonna do!

Come on come  come one cone on

Westgarth!

All of which brings me to the question at top of page. Can I tax deduct my hot pants? I’m not paid for the Westgarth Idol gig, but I do do MC work professionally. Uniforms aren’t tax deductible (I believe) but surely costumes are? What about the velcro you use to hold stripper shorts together?

I have these questions and more for my accountant.

And it’s possible, just possible, that I’m wearing the hot pants again tomorrow night, for a new act and a new song. Can you write down hot pants over a period of years? The theme tomorrow is ‘Idol Eras’ and there are Taylor Swift vibes to the promo poster. Tay Tay. To To. To Tay. Hmmm.

Tickets for Westgarth Idol 2024 are available here. Sales close at midnight tonight. if you’re a school parent, come along. It really is fun.

Good one, Wilson! is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

2 Comments